Home Organisers Registration Important Dates Agenda Call for Papers IVA 2011

Workshop on Culturally Motivated Virtual Characters



CMVC. 2011

Bringing leading researchers in the relevant areas of research will result in a broader discussion in importance and state of the art of this field and will be very useful in discussing technical and theoretical issues involved along with the challenges waiting for us in the future.

The workshop will focus, but is not limited to the following areas of research:

  1. Models of Cultures for Virtual Characters
  2. Culture based Narrative and Dialogue systems
  3. Culture Based  Interaction with Virtual Characters
  4. Evaluation Reports on user experience
  5. Case Studies on Emotions and Cultures
  6. Authoring Cultural Characters.

The workshop aims at bringing together researchers in the field of Computer Sciences, Psychology, Cultural studies to discuss the state of the art in this field of research and explore the challenges in the future. The workshop will be a combination of paper presentations and extended discussion sessions. We encourage the submission of long (8-9 pages) and short papers (5-6 pages). The format of the submissions should be Springer (LNCS) accepted.  It is intended to compile a special issue journal for this workshop.

To submit a paper please go to: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=cmvc2011

Programme Committee:

Jens Allwood - University of Göteborg, Sweden
Elisabeth Andre- Augsburg University, Germany
Ruth Aylett- Heriot-Watt University, UK
Joanna J. Bryson – University of Bath
Roberto Barra Chicote - La Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Nick Degens- Wageningen University, Netherlands
Sibylle Enz - Otto-Friedrich-Universitaet Bamberg, Bamberg, Germany
Liane Gabora Gabora - University of British Columbia, Canada
Lynne Hall - University of Sunderland, UK
John Hodgson - University of Sunderland, UK
Gert Jan Hofstede – Wageningen University, Netherlands
Collette Hume - University of Sunderland, UK
Tomoko Koda - Osaka Institute of Technology, Japan
Michael Kriegel – Heriot-Watt University, UK
Syaheerah Lutfi - La Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Jean-Claude Martin - LIMSI-CNRS, France
Juan Montero - La Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Yukiko Nakano - Seikei University Japan
Toyoaki Nishida – Kyoto University Japan
Ana Paiva - Instituto de Engenharia de Sistemas e Computadores, Investigação e Desenvolvimento
Catherine Pelachaud - IUT de Montreuil, Université de Paris 8, France
Christopher Ritter – Heriot-Watt University, UK
G. Michael Youngblood – The University of North Carolina, USA.