Call for papers

Symposium on High Level Languages for Parallel Computing on FPGAs
A Mini-Symposium held in conjunction with the
ParCo2015 conference "Parallel Computing"

University of Edinburgh
2 September 2015

Deadline: 29th June 2015.


The key advantage of FPGAs is the ability to configure logic gates to meet very specific application requirements, for highly efficient program acceleration exploiting the fine-grained parallel nature of FPGAs. FPGAs are most commonly programmed with hardware description languages (HDL) and intellectual property (IP) cores directly. At this low level, identifying opportunities for coarse-grained program optimisation and increased parallelism is difficult. Alternative approaches abstract to higher level program specification, with compilers that generate HDL from standard C, dataflow with explicit wiring, DSLs for circuit design and recently OpenCL kernels. The high level language design challenge is to trade-off language expressivity with efficient synthesis, and to introduce language constructs that FPGA compilers can exploit with performance optimisation's.

This mini-symposia brings together language designers and compiler engineers. Researchers from academia and industry are invited to submit novel contributions on a variety of topics related but not limited to:

Important dates

Extended submission deadline: 29th June.
Notification: 27th July.
Camera ready version: 24th August.
Symposium: 2nd September.

The EasyChair submission page for this symposium is Please follow carefully the Preparation of Final Papers section on the information for authors ParCo'15 page.

Organisers & Program Committee

Steering committee

Rob Stewart, Heriot-Watt University
Deepayan Bhowmik, Heriot-Watt University
Greg Michaelson, Heriot-Watt University

Program committee

Alastair Murray, CodePlay Edinburgh
Wim Vanderbauwhede, University of Glasgow
Zain-ul-Abdin, Halmstad University
Jocelyn Serot, Clermont-Ferrand University
Christiaan Baaij, University of Twente
Andy Gill, University of Kansas
Hugh Leather, University of Edinburgh
Mary Sheeran, Chalmers University of Technology
John O'Donnell, University of Glasgow
Christophe Dubach, University of Edinburgh
Tim Todman, Imperial College London