Twentieth Meeting of the North British Mathematical Physics Seminar

The 20th meeting of the North British Mathematical Physics Seminar will be held on Wednesday 5 March 2008 at the International Centre for Mathematical Sciences in Edinburgh.

Scientific Programme

Lyonell Boulton (Heriot-Watt University)
A PT-symmetric model with boundary and interior singularities
Phil Walker (University of York)
Radiation reaction in conformally-flat space-time
Lucio Cirio (SISSA)
Drinfeld twists and equivariant cohomology of noncommutative spaces
Jassem Al-Alawi (University of Durham)
Scattering of topological solitons on barriers and holes in a class of models
Erik de Vries (Heriot-Watt University)
Supersymmetric monopoles dynamics and hyperKaehler geometry

Practical Information

Travel information to get to the ICMS can be obtained here . The ICMS is located in the Edinburgh New Town and it is a pleasant 15-20 minute walk from Waverley station. The following map shows both Waverley station (near the lower right hand corner) and the ICMS (in the red circle).

Train information can be obtained from here.

Tea, coffee and biscuits will be provided free of charge; a sandwich lunch will be available at a cost of 5 pounds.

Limited funds are available to help with travel expenses of participants with no other source of funding. We hope that this will encourage postgraduate students and postdocs to attend the meeting. Please email Bernd Schroers in advance if you would like to apply for support. Please book early to take advantage of the cheaper train fares.

Postscript: The meeting took place successfully on 5 March 2008. Click here to view a list of people who took part.

Last modified: March 6 2008 at 9:38 GMT