The European Commission has provided funding as part of the Human Capital and Mobility scheme to support for the two year period 1994-95 a network of universities which are involved with research in the mathematical study of reaction diffusion equations. The network is made up of the following sites:

Requests for further general information may be directed to Prof K J Brown, Department of Mathematics, Heriot Watt University, Riccarton, Edinburgh, UK EH14 4AS (tel +44 (0)131 451 3239) (e-mail

Sites in the Reaction Diffusion Network

Details of the sites involved in reaction-diffusion research network are given below
Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh

Permanent researchers: K.J. Brown, J.C. Eilbeck, A.A. Lacey

Areas of research: analytic/computational investigations of systems of equations; spectral properties of systems and of equations on unbounded regions; blowup of solutions; free boundary value problems; higher order elliptic equations; equations involving nonlocal operators.

Contact: : Prof K J Brown, Department of Mathematics, Heriot Watt University, Riccarton, Edinburgh, UK EH14 4AS (tel +44 (0)131 451 3239) (e-mail

University of Crete, Herakleion

Permanent researchers: I. Athanasopoulos, A. Tertikas, N. Stavrakakis (Athens), D. Tzanetis (Athens).

Areas of research: free boundary value problems, blow-up of solutions, problems involving unbounded regions and indefinite weight functions.

Contact: : A. Tertikas, Department of Mathematics, University of Crete, Herakleion, Crete, Greece. (e-mail

Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Permanent researchers: J.I.Diaz, J.Lopez-Gomez, J. Hernandez (Autonoma University of Madrid), J.C.Sabina (La Laguna University, Tenerife), J.Trujillo (La Laguna University, Tenerife).

Areas of research: analytic/computational investigations of systems of equations, maximum principles for noncooperative systems, free boundary problems in reaction-diffusion equations, mathematical modelling of dynamics of reactive processes.

Contact: : Dr. J. C. Sabina de Lis, Departamento de Analisis Matematico, Universidad de La Laguna, 38271-LA LAGUNA (Tenerife), Spain (tel. +22 60 32 41) (e-mail

Technische Universiteit Delft

Permanent researchers: P.Clement, C.J.van Duijn, G.Sweers, J.Hulshof (Leiden), L.A.Peletier (Leiden).

Areas of research: maximum principles for noncooperative systems, equations involving degenerate diffusion (e.g. porous medium equation), free boundary value problems.

Contact: : Dr. G Sweers, Department of Pure Mathematics, POBox 5031, 2600 GA Delft, Netherlands. (e-mail

Universita di Trieste

Permanent researchers: G.Caristi, E.Mitidieri, K.Rybakowski, Simon, M. Ughi.

Areas of research: topological and functional analytic methods in the study of nonlinear problems, singular solutions of semilinear elliptic systems, maximum principles for noncooperative systems, blow-up of solutions, classification and singular behaviour of parabolic systems.

Contact: Prof. Enzo Mitidieri, Dipartimento di Scienze Matematiche, Universita' degli Studi di Trieste, Piazzale Europa 1-34100 TRIESTE, ITALY. (e-mail

Université Toulouse

Permanent researchers: Y.Egorov, J.Fleckinger, F. de Thelin

Areas of research: spectral properties for problems involving unbounded regions, regions with fractal boundaries, maximum principles for noncooperative systems.

Contact: Prof Jacqueline Fleckinger, Université de Toulouse I, Place Anatole France, 31042 Toulouse Cedex (e-mail

--> Heriot-Watt Mathematics Department

Last updated 29 April 96

Ken Brown / Heriot-Watt University/