1st Scottish Functional Programming Workshop

August 29th to September 1st, 1999
University of Stirling, Bridge of Allan, Scotland


Central Scotland has been very influential in the development of functional programming, with notable contributions including the design, development and implementation of SASL, Standard ML and Haskell. At present there are internationally recognised research groups at the University of Edinburgh, University of Glasgow, Heriot-Watt University and the University of St Andrews, investigating a variety of theoretical and practical aspects of functional programming. The Scottish Functional Programming Workshops will draw on the strengths of these and other Scottish centres, and are the worthy successor to the highly-successful series of Glasgow Functional Programming Workshops which ran from 1988 to 1998.


Advisory Committee

The 1st Workshop

The 1st Scottish Functional Programming Workshop will be held at the University of Stirling from the 29th of August to the 1st of September 1999.

Participants will be selected on the basis of a 2 page abstract.

Participation is open, but if the workshop is oversubscribed then some preference may be shown to researchers in Scotland, especially postgraduate students, and to those with links to Scottish research groups.

All participants are expected to give a short presentation of their research.

Papers from all participants will appear in the draft proceedings.

A fully refereed proceedings will be published as a book after the workshop.

Draft Programme

Key Dates

30th July:Registration - FIRM DATE - with money or invoice
20th Aug:Submission of paper for draft proceedings - FIRM DATE
29th Aug-1st Sept:Workshop


Registration Fees

Getting to the Workshop

Submission Format for Draft Proceedings

Conference Organisation

Co-co-ordinator:Greg Michaelsongreg@cee.hw.ac.uk0131 451 3422
Co-co-ordinator:Phil Trindertrinder@cee.hw.ac.uk0131 451 3435

Department of Computing & Electrical Engineering
Heriot-Watt University
EH14 4AS

Fax: 0131 451 3431

Webpage created by Andrew J. Cook (email ceeajc@cee.hw.ac.uk).