Department of Computer Science, Heriot-Watt University

History of the 1970s

7th July 1970
First graduates of BSc in Computer Science

October 1970

Two year Part-time MSc in Computer Science started

1st January 1971

Establishment of Chair in Computer Science, with Alex Balfour as its first occupant

13th November 1971

First PhD Graduate

March 1972
BCS Accreditation received - exemption from BCS Part I and Part II examinations for honours graduates and from Part I for ordinary graduates
11 July 1972
First MSc graduate, by research
11the November 1972
First graduates of MSc in Computer Science
January 1973
BCS Accreditation – exemption from BCS Part I examination for MSc graduates; exemption from Part II may be gained if the dissertation is of sufficient merit.
11th June 1973
Visit of the Computer Board - discussion on replacement computer
October 1973
BA in Accountancy and Computer Science started
March 1974
Burroughs B5700/B1726 system installed with a grant of £211,870 from the Department of Education and Science
August 1974
Some academics move to 79 Grassmarket
October 1974
MSc offered part-time “outwith normal working hours”
Autumn 1975
Remaining academics move to 79 Grassmarket
13th July 1977
First graduates of BA in Accountancy and Computer Science
October 1978
MSc in Software Development and Analysis started
May 1979
PDP11 installed
30th September 1979
Alex Balfour resigns
1st December 1979
Computer Centre separated from the Department of Computer Science, with Allen McTernan as Director